NSW, Australia

Welcome to the Mayfield Website

The Mayfield Website was created in 1995 to provide primary historical source materials such as early printed accounts, pioneer letters, oral history transcriptions, photographs, maps and plans on the little known history of the Newcastle suburb. It was the initiative of University Archivist Mr. Gionni Di Gravio and subsequently identified by the National Library of Australia for inclusion in their Pandora archive as one of ‘national significance’.

The Mayfield website has led to our participation on a number of industrial, business and community committees involved in collaborative projects and initiatives utilising historical archival records held in the Unit and published online.

Firstly, there was our involvement on the Beyond 2000 Technical Sub-Committee for Steel River Project. This Project was originally conceived as a partnership between industry, community and government that would “create a world-leading eco-industrial park generating employment for over 2000 people.” It received The Royal Australian Planning Institute’s Award for Excellence in Planning as a result of 18 months work that began in June 1996 and wound up at the end of 1997. It has also led to the arrival of the CSIRO Energy Research Division to the local region and will spawn great benefits in future collaborative ventures with the University.

As well, there was a Mayfield community and Newcastle Council collaborative event in November 2002 entitled “Mayfield 2304: Soul Guts Spirit” which used historical resources from our website in its planning and producing further oral histories and resources in partnership with Council and the University’s School of Design, Communication and Information Technology.

We also assisted in a joint venture between the University’s Cultural Industries and Practices Research Centre (CIPS) local business and the Mayfield Main Street Business committee to oversee the creation of heritage walks in the local area.

Another community digital initiative spawned from The Mayfield Website was the Virtual Coquun-Hunter River Project. The Project aims to create a digital repository of all the published early accounts and descriptions of the Hunter Region.

We hope you find these digitised research materials consisting of early accounts from travellers’ journals, oral history transcriptions, photographs, maps, plans and much more relating to the history of Mayfield helpful.

6 responses

  1. Hello, My name is Renata Daniel and I currently head a small business initaitive in Newcastle that conducts ghost tours of the local area. I am very interested in the hsitory of this town and have done much research to give our tours a historic basis. was fortunate to come accross your site today while doing some hunting for inforamtion about the Murray Dwyer orphanage site. I am hoping to work my way through all of your articles as they are totally fascinating to me.
    Thank you for creating this page.
    Kindest regards,
    Renata Daniel

    July 11, 2011 at 11:11 am

  2. Robert M Fellows

    Hullo my name is Robert M Fellows and I am a past attendee at Mayfield East Public School. I only chanced on this information when I Googled Mayfield East Public School History. It is very interesting as I now live in Frankston Victoria. I did find some other information on 50 Years of Mayfield which I also found interesting. I shall keep my eye on this site and visit from time to time.
    Regards
    Robert

    September 19 2012

    September 19, 2012 at 5:14 pm

  3. Robyn Brinkley

    Hello. My name is Robyn Brinkley (formerly Eggins ) and my family lived in Mayfield in Dora Street after Mrs Downie moved to her new home. That house is still in my family. My grandmother taught at Mayfield East primary and I attended Mayfield East Primary School. I could perhaps contribute a little information to this site but I don’t know how.

    November 29, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    • Thanks Robyn. If there’s anything you’d like to add, you could add it into a comment field, as you have done above. There is usually a delay, as we vet all comments prior to adding them onto the site.

      December 2, 2013 at 9:46 am

      • Robyn Brinkley

        Do you want any photos? I have one of my house as it was then in about 1918 and one from the Herald of a speech day award at Mayfield East Primary in 1959. Also one of Hanbury Street taken by KG Shilling in c 1900 but it is copyright. Any use? I can scan them.

        December 2, 2013 at 4:41 pm

  4. Robyn Brinkley

    Well one thing I noticed in the Mayfield list of teacher was the absence of Miss M Edwards, who was principal of the girls section of the school at least in 1958 and 1959. She had a great influence on me

    December 2, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Leave a comment